i shoot people

San Diego Fires

I just got a free moment and I’ve gotten a lot of e-mails and phone calls and I appreciate you all for caring. Here is a quick update on the fires here in SD. Last night the area I live in in Eastlake was notified to voluntarily evacuate. Alicia and I packed up all of our important belongings and headed a few miles north to her parents house in Bonita. We closely watched the news until around midnight and got a precious 2 hours of sleep. Alicia’s firend Katie whose father is fighting the fires for us called and gave us a heads up of a fire approaching sunnyside, about half of a mile from where we were staying. Alicia’s family started packing as I headed back to our condo. There was an orange glow all around and once I got out of Bonita Valley I saw flames on the nearby hills. I was shocked to reach my condo and still have flames in sight, I honestly didn’t think that the fire would get anywhere near that close. I grabbed some more stuff and shot a couple of quick photos of the fire by the lake. I helped a neighbor load up his car then headed back to Bonita. Alicia and her mom soon after took off to my grandma’s house while we started hosing town the house. When daybreak finally came on us we had the house dripping so I took back off to see how close the fire was. At this time Sunnyside had been mandatory evacuated and almost all of Alicia’s parents neighbors had took off. I was suprised to see that the fire actually backed off a bit and shot some more photos at a spot less then a half mile from my condo at Rolling Hills Ranch where the fire was headed down the field. Soon after the national guard asked me and the other onlookers to evacuate the area as Rolling Hills Ranch became another mandatory evacuation area. So here I am back at the condo waiting to see what I need to do next. Once again my condo lies in a voluntary evacuation zone however less then half of a mile a way has now been completely evacuated. If the winds keep where they are at that will be a blessing for us. A quick note, 1 out of 6 people in San Diego have been evacuated.

Here are some photos that I shot today as well as some photos by the photographers from the Union Tribune ( http://www.signonsandiego.com ) I’m off to get some rest then I’ll see what tonight has to hold . . .

a view of the fire reflected by the lake which our condo is off of

a house down the street with flames behind it

rolling hills ranch

The following photos were taken by the photographers for the Union Tribune.

3 responses

  1. Mom

    You are a good photographer and an even greater son!

    October 23, 2007 at 9:30 pm

  2. Elizabeth

    Glad to hear you guys are safe. Wonderful pictures, as always.

    October 23, 2007 at 10:02 pm

  3. Uncle Tom

    Good job, thanks for the udate. Give Alicia a kiss from her fav. Uncle.

    Love

    October 24, 2007 at 3:49 pm

Leave a Reply

